Go to top of page

Legislation and resources

Mutual recognition arrangements improve the movement of labour and goods, both in the national market and between Australia and New Zealand. To achieve these effects, there are two agreements:

All Australian Governments have implemented the Mutual Recognition Agreement through legislation. The Mutual Recognition Act 1992 enacts the domestic arrangement between the Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments of Australia.

Similarly, all Australian Governments and the Government of New Zealand have enacted the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Act 1997 in order to give the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Arrangement the force of law in their jurisdiction. This legislation prevails over any inconsistent laws relating to the sale of goods or the registration of occupations. Jurisdictions that have passed the necessary legislation are referred to as ‘participating’ parties and continue to be covered by the scheme while their Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition legislation remains in force. 


A Users' Guide to the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) and the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Arrangement (TTMRA) (PDF 516KB) | (DOCX 336KB) provides guidance for administrators of the Mutual Recognition Agreement and the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Arrangement and for those wishing to operate under the schemes. In particular, the guide contains information to help:

  • those in registered occupations who wish to seek registration under the mutual recognition schemes;

  • occupational registration authorities;

  • professional associations and other occupational groups;

  • business operators who wish to sell goods under the scheme;

  • manufacturers’ associations and other business groups;

  • government agencies responsible for the regulation of goods; and

  • Ministerial Councils.