Go to top of page

Governance arrangements

The Cross Jurisdictional Review Forum (CJRF) was established by the Council of Australian Governments to monitor the operation of the mutual recognition schemes and respond to, and implement, where agreed, findings from the Australian Productivity Commission’s five-yearly reviews of the schemes. It includes representatives from state and territory governments and the Government of New Zealand. The CJRF secretariat is located in the Department of Education and Training, and can be contacted by email at MutualRecognition [at] education.gov.au.

The Department of Education and Training and Department of Industry and Science are responsible for the administration of the Mutual Recognition Act 1992 and Trans-Tasman Recognition Act 1997. The former department is responsible for the mutual recognition of occupations, and the latter department is responsible for the mutual recognition of goods.

Detailed information about mutual recognition and its governance arrangements is available at https://www.education.gov.au/mutual-recognition.